top of page
Search
  • Emilia

Review "Looking for Alaska" by John Green / Recenzie "Căutând-o pe Alaska" de John Green

Updated: Mar 2, 2019

EN// I`ve read some of John Green`s books before, "The fault in our Stars" and "Paper Towns" so I could get an idea about his writing style and I like it a lot. However, while reading "Looking for Alaska" I just didn`t feel like I was reading one of John Green`s books. I was still able to find some pieces of his style, but it felt like I was reading soemone else`s book. I can`t say I don`t like the book, but if I have to be honest (and I am always trying to be as honest as possible while writing these reviews) it`s not between my favourites.

I mean, the plot is not that incredible, at least not in my eye; I read better books, from John Green and not just him. But over all, it`s a pretty book, depending on your preferences and expectations.

However, what I learned after reading this book is that even if you have already read another book from an author, it doesn`t mean that all of his books are written in the same "style" and it`s better to start a book without having much "expectations" from it...


Alaska Young, the main female character, is a teenager with a complicated mind, introverted but extroverted at the same time; some people would call her "bipolar" which may or may not be true.

Miles Halter, the male main character, can be considered by a lot of people as a geek, just a weird guy with an even weirder passion: important people`s last words. He can keep in mind the last words of American presidents, movie actors, fighters and other personalities.

But one day, she disappears. Where? Why? These questions get stuck in Miles` head as he and his friends try to find out the reason why their friend decided to do such a crazy thing...

There`s a before and after. Nothing feels the same anymore, it couldn`t be the same.

 

"There comes a moment when we realise that our parents can`t save us and they can`t save themselves, that everyone who swim in time will be drawn off at some point in the deep water- that, shortly, we will all be gone."

 

RO// Am citit înainte câteva cărți de la John Green, "Sub aceeași stea" și "Orașe de hârtie" deci mi-am putut forma o oarecare idee despre stilul lui de scris și îmi place foarte mult. Cu toate acestea, în timp ce citeam "Căutând-o pe Alaska" pur și simplu nu m-am simțit ca și cum citeam una din cărțile lui John Green. Tot am putut identifica câteva bucăți din stilul lui de scris, dar a fost ca și cum citeam cartea altui autor. Nu pot să spun că nu îmi place cartea, dar dacă trebuie să fiu sinceră (și încerc să fiu mereu cât de sinceră se poate scriind aceste recenzii) nu este printre preferatele mele.

Adică, acțiunea nu este foarte specială, cel puțin din punctul meu de vedere; am citit alte cărți mai bune decât aceasta, de la John Green și nu numai. Dar toate, una peste cealaltă, este o carte drăguță, depinde de preferințele și așteptările fiecăruia.

Cu toate acestea, ce am învățat citind această carte este că, deși ai mai citit alte cărți de la un autor, asta nu înseamnă că toate cărțile lui sunt scrise în același "stil" și e mult mai bine să începi o carte fără prea multe "așteptări" de la ea...


Alaska Young, personajul feminin principal, este o adolescentă cu o minte complicată, introvertită dar extrovertită în același timp; unii oameni ar putea spune că e "bipolară" ceea ce poate fi adevarat sau nu.

Miles Halter, personajul principal masculin, ar putea fi considerat de către mulți oameni ca un tocilar, doar un tip ciudat cu o pasiune și mai ciudată: ultimele cuvinte ale unor oameni importanți. Poate ține minte ultimele cuvinte ale președinților americani, actorilor de film, luptători și alte personalități.

Dar într-o zi, ea dispare. Unde? De ce? Aceste întrebări rămân blocate în capul lui Miles în timp ce el și prietenii lui încearcă să găsească motivul pentru care prietena lor a ales să facă un lucru atât de nebunesc...

Este un înainte și un după. Nimic nu se mai simte la fel, nu ar putea fi la fel.

 

"Vine un moment când ne dăm seama că părinții noștri nu ne pot salva și nu se pot salva pe ei înșiși, că toți cei care înoată în timp vor fi trași la un moment dat în larg- că, pe scurt, ne vom duce cu toții."

 

Publicata @ editura TREI. Aprecierea mea: 3/5. Sincer, nu se afla printre preferatele mele, dar e o lectura dragutica, putin mai ciudata, dar cred ca merita...


22 views1 comment

1 Comment


lea.bergfeldt
Dec 09, 2018

I really like your honest and incredibly good written book reviews! 💗📚

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page